So throughout my many many years of procrastinating and reading all I could about writing, plotting, editing, and all of the stuff you need to be prepared to know before you actually start writing that book… I received my first rejection letter. Mail to be accurate. And good thing was I had just recently read the experience of a couple of my favourite authors before they became world famous writers because… rejection still sucks. You know for about 99.99% that your story is going to be rejected, because obviously it’s your first novel and all and you read all about how not to be easily discouraged by the loads of rejection letters you will receive, but still…

And actually, it was a really nice rejection letter. Standard, probably, but nice and polite. And quick too. Is that a bad thing? Probably. Someone who can decide that quickly that he doesn’t like your story, had no reason so ever to believe in it or in you as a writer, right?

But on the other hand, I’m quite happy. Because that way, it’s done and over. Been there, done that. I’ve just sent out submissions of the same project to a couple of other editors, so I feel like I’ve survived the first step and have moved towards the second step : acceptance of the rocky road you’re on, and tackling the job like any other, by just doing it. Planning a scheme on how to get it done, and do it.

And lucky coincidence though, the same day that I got that first rejection mail, I also had another crazily fun idea for another novel so… guess the rocky road’s just gonna be a little more bumpy with a  few other friends and story characters to follow me around for a while!

Have any of you gone through that process of rejection yet? How was your “first time?” I’m kinda curious about it…

